Skip To Main Content

Metropolitan Melbourne

The three Melbourne metropolitan retail water corporations (City West Water, Yarra Valley Water and South East Water) operate the water distribution and sewerage systems for the Melbourne metropolitan area. Each retail company provides water supply and sewerage services within a specified geographic region of the metropolitan zone.

 Logo-Yarra-Valley-Water-Full-RGB-PNG                                                                      CWW                                                                   South East Water

Melbourne Water supplies the three retail companies and controls headworks and major sewerage treatment plants and is responsible for drainage and waterways. Melbourne Water operates the Eastern and Western Treatment Plants in Carrum and Werribee respectively; and has the responsibility for providing drainage and waterway management services to the greater Melbourne area. City West Water, Yarra Valley Water and South East Water also operate a number of smaller treatment plants in metropolitan Melbourne.



Vic Metro water corporations map

The above map shows indicative water corporation boundaries, contacting the water corporation is the most accurate way of determining up to date boundary information.